My marathon logic, treadmill woes, and why you should date a runner

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Events, Personal

Buckling Down: Serious Marathon Training

Remember my post about running 5 marathons this year? Scrap that. So as not to spread myself too thin as I always tend to do, I prioritized my runs and settled on just two. Both the Manila International Marathon and Camsur Marathon are out. I’ll explain my logic for the remaining events under consideration in programming syntax:

IF (Milo Manila Eliminations = QUALIFY) {
GOTO (Milo National Finals, Dec11);
}

ELSEIF (Money = PLENTY) {
GOTO (Standard-Chartered Singapore Marathon, Dec4);
}

ELSE {
GOTO (Quezon City International Marathon, Dec4);
}

I’ll be following Hal Higdon’s 18-week Novice I training program for my first marathon, modified for slightly higher mileage. Hopefully, I’ll be able to stick to it like glue in the next three months.

Goodbye, Treadmill!

I’ve been planning on purchasing a treadmill so I could run despite the usual hellish weather when the rainy season starts. Electric treadmills are too expensive for me right now so I figured a good manual treadmill will have to suffice. You can get one brand new for about PhP 9,000, which ain’t bad.

After the Hyundai Run, I went to a store to try a Questor model. I realized that because I weigh so little, even at the lowest resistance settings I have to push hard on the belt just to keep it moving. That just won’t do. It will mess up my proper running form which, according to Chi Running, at least, should involve minimal push off.

So goodbye, dream treadmill. I guess I’ll be glued to online weather forecasts for windows of sunshine, and if the rain refuses to stop, then off to the nearby gym for me. Four hours on an electric treadmill. Ugh. Gotta find me some good new songs to play.

“Date a Girl Who Runs”

I read this post thru Facebook. I’m familiar with the article which inspired it, and it’s fun to see how it has become a Internet meme with at least four spin-offs (probably much more). Anyway, The Bull Runner, Jaymie Pizarro, came up with her own argument for dating runners.

Date a girl who runs. Date a girl who chooses to move than to let the world pass her by. She will cover the roads with you while talking about the mundane to the profound without gasping for air.

The full article can be found over at Jaymie’s blog.

Leave a Reply

