Hyundai Run for a Cause

Posted: April 9, 2011 in Events, Personal

Pre-race

Since I scrapped my plan to participate in the Baguio 21K this April, I was on the lookout for a replacement race this month. I saw Hyundai’s announcement on Facebook and it was too good to be true. Free fun run? With singlet, bib, timing chip, and the whole shebang? I signed up immediately for the 10K and took the liberty of having two of my friends registered for the 5K without prior consent. Good thing, too, because slots ran out within a few hours.

One of them didn’t run because of asthma but the other I was able to cajole into running her first road race. I know how lonely it can be to run and finish without company, so my plan was to finish my 10K as fast as I could then go back to the starting line to join her for her 5K and maybe take some souvenir pictures. With my current fitness level, I knew I could do 15K but only if I took it easy. Attempting to beat my personal record is a no-no if I wanted to get home on my own feet.

I got our race packs Thursday night and met my friend the next day over lunch to give hers. I briefed her on what to expect from the route to clothing to avoiding gastro-intestinal dilemmas. All set!

Race day, April 2

At 4:45am I was already at the Quirino Grandstand. Even though I was part of Wave C set to start at 5:15am, I went over to the starting line and joined Wave A so I can finish quickly. Turns out it was a wise decision because the program began just after 5:00am and the hosts Boom Gonzales and Regine Tolentino had to stall for time and go through some announcements. Richard Gomez and Lucy Torres spoke. Then Regine led the warm-up. It was almost 5:20am when Wave A crossed the starting line.

It was still dark. We had all of the southbound lanes to ourselves. There were plenty of policemen to control the crowd and vehicular traffic. Race marshals in green lined the streets, said to be volunteers from the beneficiaries Haribon Foundation and others. There were no plastic cups for hydration. Instead, the organizers provided 500ml mineral water bottles that runners could carry with them. I’m cool with this. The lesser the trash, the better. Some enterprising people began to collect empty water bottles, probably to be sold to junk shops, so in the end there was virtual no litter along Roxas Boulevard. Great!

The 10K U-turn was situated near the SM Mall of Asia. I was struggling a bit because of the pollution from the cars at the other side of the island. I couldn’t breathe well and it slowed me down. Walking around in heeled boots along Ayala the previous day probably didn’t help, either. By the time I passed the flyover and got to the CCP, I was so happy that there was only 3K left. I was generous with myself in taking walk breaks, but also mindful that I have to get back to the starting line for my friend before 6:30am.

I finished the 10K at around 6:29am. Barely catching my breath, my friend texted that her wave was about to start, so I hurried to catch her. Luckily, I did find her easily and crossed the starting line for the second time. We walked the first kilometer and generally took it easy because she didn’t have much practice. Thank goodness for that. I don’t think I would’ve been able to run continuously if she asked me to. I took her pic at the 5K U-turn sign for “proof”. We saw a running nun, too! She was quick and I didn’t get to take her picture, but someone from Facebook did:

The sun was scorching hot at this point. Near the grandstand, the organizers had a firetruck pour an instant shower for the runners. I was delighted and dove right in! My friend was worried we’d slip on the wet asphalt, but maybe seeing me come out alright made her want to try the experience. When I looked back, there she was getting wet! To give you an idea, here’s a shot from the Hyundai Activemoments album:

When we saw the finish line, we were so pumped up and made a sprint towards it. She clocked in at about 42mins, way faster than her expected finish of 1hour. An automatic PR. Thanks for the well-staged event, Hyundai! 🙂

Post-race

After a short picture-taking session at the finish line to savor the moment, we got our bags and ate some “dirty ice cream” to battle the heat. Then we were off to Chowking for breakfast. Now, this is cheesy, but when I was already at Cubao on my way home, I found myself singing Ariel Rivera’s “Simpleng Buhay”. I don’t know if it was just the endorphins taking me over, but that morning, I felt really good about my life. No complications. Just me and the road. I’d like to keep it this way for a while.

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    “No complications. Just me and the road. I’d like to keep it this way for a while.” – I am so glad for your happiness Scout. You got me cheering for you.

  2. […] Pre-race Since I scrapped my plan to participate in the Baguio 21K this April, I was on the lookout for a replacement race this month. I saw Hyundai's announcement on Facebook and it was too good to be true. Free fun run? With singlet, bib, timing chip, and the whole shebang? I signed up immediately for the 10K and took the liberty of having two of my friends registered for the 5K without prior consent. Good thing, too, because slots ran out with … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

