Training for My First Marathon, Week 4

Posted: April 27, 2011 in Personal
Tags:

So I’ve completed a month of training without any mishaps. That’s 165K down, and 835K to go in the next 14 weeks. Still sounds like a lot, doesn’t it?

Week 4 called for 8K/11K/8K base runs and a weekend long run of 18K. Without even trying, the 11K last Wednesday had me getting new personal records for both the 8K and the 10K. I was taking it easy at first as recommended in the plan, but when I realized that the PRs were within reach, I sprinted the last few hundred meters of each distance. 8K now stands at 0:50:34 (6:19 pace) and 10K is at 1:03:12 (6:19 pace). I know, I know. They’re still slow times but you have to start somewhere, right?

That day, I almost got stopped at the gate because the guard questioned why I was wearing a singlet instead of a shirt as per camp policy. *sigh* With the summer heat, I’ll probably collapse if I run over an hour in a shirt. Anyway, I told him my jacket got stolen at the jogging track, which is true, and he let me go with a warning.

For the 18K run, I could have started sooner so as not to endure the sun during the last few kilometers. I ended up with an average pace of 6:55, which isn’t bad for a long run, but it could’ve been better.

Next week, I’ll start incorporating speed drills during base runs and the weekend will feature a half-marathon. Will I beat my PR? I damn well should!

Leave a Reply

