Resizing the Milo Singlet

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Personal, Random

I’m small. Puny. Liliputian. That’s a big problem when it comes to race singlets because the “Extra Small” can look “Extra Large” on me. Take, for example, the Milo singlet. It is allegedly sized “Asian Women – Small” but it makes me seem like I’m wearing my mom’s daster.

I took a picture of my usual blue running top vis a vis the green singlet in question. I thought about taking it to my dressmaker aunt to adjust the fit, then I had the crazy idea of doing it myself (it was a lazy afternoon). You can see at the bottom left corner that I already started snipping away at the excess cloth. No turning back now!

Since I’ve never done this, I don’t really have the proper tools. I used the kitchen scissors, for instance. I was lucky that we have 2 needles lying around, though the only threads available were dark and light brown. Never mind, they’ll do. Now if can just remember my grade school sewing lessons…

I’m done patching the seams on both sides though I haven’t started stitching up the bottom. This makes the singlet appear “grungy”. Even so, I tried it on for one of my runs and I’m happy to report that the fit is just right. My only complaint is that the fabric tends to run up while I’m running, exposing my abs every now and then. If I were Hope Solo, maybe I wouldn’t mind. Alas, my abs are not fit for public viewing.

The military guys I was jogging with kept taunting me about the “Kaya mo ‘yan!” print at the back of the singlet. One of them went alongside me and did exaggerated running movements in a mocking way. I guess he thought it was funny. Then he sped off as if to say, “This is how real men run. Me strong. You weak.” (cue chest pounding) Hmp. I kept to my pace and didn’t try to catch up. Before the lap was over, he started to slow down. I passed him and he couldn’t keep up. From the back, I heard him say, “Ang lakas pala tumakbo nung batang ‘yon…”

Some guys just suck at underestimating little girls, don’t they?

Comments
  1. this is a neat trick. gotta try this on my singlet. i find the dimension of the singlet odd as it is a bit wide on its sides. thanks for the tip! =)

    i also like how you ended your blog – β€œAng lakas pala tumakbo nung batang β€˜yon…” πŸ˜‰

    • scout says:

      Hi Daves. Yes, it is! I’ve since applied the same trick to my Hyundai, Pink Run, and Rizal Run singlets. Sort of getting the hang of it. πŸ˜‰ It’s nice to not be so dependent on what’s available out there. Although I do wish they’d realize that Filipinos aren’t that hefty and runners are especially slim.

      Matagal na akong hindi bata, pero sa sobrang liit, madalas mapagkamalan. Anyway, girl power! πŸ˜‰

  2. and i hope TBR would bring out a size that fits you well so you don’t have to ‘trim’ it πŸ˜€

    • scout says:

      haha. hope so, too. i already told jaymie about my concern but i don’t know. mahirap talaga ang buhay ng outlier. adjust-adjust na lang. πŸ˜‰

  3. jaze sanchez says:

    do you know what kind of fabric was used for the milo singlet?

Leave a Reply

