Two Steps Back, 26.2 Miles Forward

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Personal, Random

Grand dreams are often tempered by reality. Things move slower than planned. We discover that the road is fraught with difficulties. Despite all efforts, progress can give way to regress. One step forward, two steps back.

There are times when everything I built seem to crumble in an instant. The operative word is “seem”. When I examine my life in a more holistic manner, I am astounded by how much it has improved. Just over a year ago, I was quite literally a picture of despair. Since then, I have evolved. My body may not be 100% but I’m still stronger than I’ve ever been in my entire existence. Mentally, I’m tougher when confronted challenges and eager to slay long-held fears. Emotionally, my heart is in a good place, happy with my friends and family, anticipating a brighter future. I take comfort in these small triumphs. Rome wasn’t built in a day, I tell myself. Perseverance will eventually be rewarded.

The year 2011 has been excellent because I worked extremely hard to make it so. For 2012, I’ll work even harder. Obstacles came my way and, yes, I stumbled, but not for long. I got back on my feet, gritted my teeth, and did better. Push me two steps back and I’ll run 26.2 miles forward.

2012, I’m ready! Have a happy new year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

